SendSafely administrators now have more options to centrally manage Workspaces created and shared by users within their portal. These options include the ability to:
- Create new Workspaces on behalf of users
- Limit the ability to create Workspaces to authorized users only
1. Create new Workspaces on behalf of users
SendSafely administrators can create Workspaces on behalf of their registered users via impersonation. Admins can impersonate any user in their portal from the Enterprise Console by clicking the three dot menu on the user's row and choosing either Activity or Profile. Workspace creation is available under the Activity option. Admin's can create Workspaces on behalf of regular users, as well as no-login service accounts.
When impersonating, a yellow banner alerts the Admin they are viewing the page as another user. From here, Admins click the Create New Item button and then choose the New Workspace option.
Once the Workspace is created, the Admin can re-name the Workspace, add collaborators, and view the secure link at the bottom of the screen. (The secure link must be shared with any added collaborators.) The Admin is automatically added to the Workspace as a collaborator with the Manager role.
Admins can not add files, create folders or download files while impersonating another user. All Admin actions performed while impersonating are captured in the Workspace activity log.
The new Workspace is added to the Admin's own Trusted Browser and is available in the Admin's History Page > Workspace listing for future access while not impersonating. If the impersonated user has a Trusted Browser, the new Workspace is automatically added to their Trusted Browser as well. This means the impersonated user can access the Workspace without being provided the secure link.
The above process does NOT require a Master Key for the organization or admin.
2. Limit the ability to create Workspaces to authorized users only
Customers can choose to limit the ability to create Workspaces to a subset of authorized users within the organization. If an organization opts into this configuration, un-authorized users can access and participate in Workspaces as collaborators, but not create new Workspaces.
To opt into this configuration and designate authorized user's please contact email@example.com