Workspaces are set up under a user account (the Workspace owner) and are shared with both internal and external users (collaborators). When the owner's SendSafely account is deactivated the Workspace is deleted and can no longer be accessed by any collaborator. Workspace ownership can be transferred to another internal SendSafely user prior to account deactivation to preserve the Workspace. Ownership can be transferred by both the owner, and a SendSafely admin by following the below steps:
Transfer by Admin
Admin rights are limited to updating collaborator roles and deleting collaborators only. Admins cannot add a collaborator to a workspace. Admins cannot decrypt workspace content or access the Workspace secure link.
An Admin can transfer ownership of any workspace in their SendSafely portal via the Enterprise Console. First, locate the Workspace owner in the Active User listing, click View, then select the Activity option.
When viewing the owners Activity, select the Workspaces tab, then click on the Workspace to be transferred.
Select the Collaborators tab and click on the account of the new owner. The new owner must be a registered SendSafely user within the Enterprise Portal. Ownership cannot be transferred to external accounts, or non-registered users.
Lastly, click on the grey button displaying the collaborators current role and and select Owner from the available dropdown options.
Transfer by Owner
Workspace owners can transfer ownership to another account by navigating to the Workspace Collaborators tab and clicking on the account of the new owner. Please note that ownership can only be transferred to a registered SendSafely user within the Enterprise Portal. Ownership cannot be transferred to external accounts, or non-registered users.
Next, click on the grey button displaying the user's current role, and select Owner from the available dropdown options.